Hello, Dear Reader. How’s Your Soul?

Perfect Rainbow

Today’s Blogging 101 assignment is to write a post addressed to your ideal audience and to throw some bells and whistles in with it for good measure.

I’m a writer, an author, to be more specific. This is my author blog, so its sole purpose is to introduce my brand to readers. When I moved to the island a few months ago and decided to take up farming, I met the young lady from Hong Kong who runs my preferred farm store. As she so succinctly put it, “You, buy your budgie feed from ME!” So, the point of this blog is, “You, buy MY books!” (Not necessarily from me, as I haven’t figured out the ecommerce bit of WordPress yet.) Since, that kind of expression is generally frowned upon in our society, too direct, brash and honest I suppose, other subtler forms of marketing suffice.

So, dear reader and blog visitor, you probably expect me to start hard- or soft-selling you my books and telling you why you should buy MY books, but that’s not what I’m about at all. Oh no. The Bible, my guidebook for living, tells me to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto me. I have no need to chase after your buying power because I can’t actually take any of it with me into eternal life and in the meantime, the Lord shall supply all my need according to His riches in glory, so I’m well taken care of. You need to be taken care of too.

How is your soul? Is your life meaningful? Will it continue after you shed this mortal coil? When you die, will you be done? Or will it just be the beginning?

Romans 10

Brethren, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved. For I bear them record that they have a zeal of God, but not according to knowledge.

For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.

For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth.

But what saith it? The word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth, and in thy heart: that is, the word of faith, which we preach;

That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him.

For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

Leave a Reply

