Big

Big

I spent most of this morning trying to photograph something BIG from a weird angle to fulfill today’s Photo 101 brief: Big & Point of View, pushing things like my looming tax deadline aside for the moment. I took pictures of the obvious first. I tried to photograph the sky and quickly realized that the sky isn’t big; it’s vast. Vast doesn’t come off too well in a picture. I tried photographing the mountains against the sky and ran into the same problem: bigger than big, so no concept of “big” in the pictures. I tried a single bird high up in the air against the sky. No big there either. Things continued in that vein for hours. I lay on my back in things that itch terribly trying to find a point of view that would show BIG. No luck.

Conclusion: Big isn’t an absolute concept, but a comparison. For something to be big, something else must be small. I finally decided to stack some rocks for a size comparison and take the pic from a low angle to convey the size and the BIGness of each rock in comparison to the others. Who knew BIG was so hard to capture?

Isaiah 55:8-9

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

Neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth,

So are my ways higher than your ways,

And my thoughts than your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

