Places

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Places.”

My Blogging 101 assignment for the day is to write a prompted post. Today’s prompt is “Places.”

My first impulse was to shrug off writing anything today because the day was just too beautiful to waste a moment of it staring at a computer screen. I guess that means I’m in a good place.

I wasn’t always in a good place. In fact, I was in a dark place for a very long time, because in this life we’re appointed to go through things (some of us, not all, but that’s a subject for another day).

Psalm 66:12

Thou hast caused men to ride over our heads; we went through fire and through water: but thou broughtest us out into a wealthy place.

While I was being downtrodden and wading through fire and water, I held on to my Blessed Hope, because I knew I only had to go through it to make it to my wealthy place. If anybody asked me, I’d just tell them, “I’m rich.” You see, being in a wealthy place doesn’t have to involve money. You can be rich spiritually, or rich in your relationships or rich in a myriad aspects of your life and not have a penny in your pocket.

In any case, when you’re rich spiritually, you could also end up rich financially. When you find yourself in your wealthy place, remember the warning given by King David, who was in his wealthy place:

Psalm 62:10

Trust not in oppression, and become not vain in robbery: if riches increase, set not your heart upon them.

Always remember your treasure in this place is in a jar of clay.

Treasures in Jars of Clay

(Romans 6:1-14)

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us. We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed;

So set your affection on a higher place.

Hebrews 13:14

For here have we no continuing city, but we seek one to come.

I wish you a very rich day, wherever you might be.

Leave a Reply

