Photo 101: Treasure & Close-up

Treasure and Close-up

When I saw the Photo 101 assignment for day 16 pop into my inbox a few minutes ago, I had a little laugh, grabbed my camera, turned off the lights and turned a spotlight on the first biggish-print bible I could get my hands on. I knew just exactly the shot and effect I wanted for this assignment, “Treasure.” As for close-up, I almost had the camera touching the page to get the detail of the text in the semi-darkness. I got what I wanted on the first shot. I might try another set of photos tomorrow, D.V., should inspiration strike.

Matthew 6:19-21

Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:

But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

5 thoughts on “Photo 101: Treasure & Close-up

  1. Love it, very nice. I like the spotlight effect. When I first saw it, I thought you had edited the photo to get that look. I’ve been playing with macro photography lately, and sometimes I get the camera so close to things I block my lighting out of half the picture. ha ha

    1. I had that problem with blocking out the light too. I had to get someone to hold the focused flashlight a few inches from the page and then I kind of twisted my back and contorted a bit to get above the flashlight so I wasn’t getting in the way of things. Luckily, I used to do a lot of yoga. 🙂

      1. Whoa, what an article! I think I’ll stick to my own property and neighborhood for photo ops! I’d rather battle a crick in the neck or a bee sting than elephants, tear gas, assault, etc!

Leave a Reply

