Writing 101 Day 3: Meaningful Songs

For today’s Writing 101 assignment, I’m supposed to write about three songs that are important to me and to tell you why they’re meaningful. I guess this kind of post pulls on many emotional strings and for most people this would be easy, but I must confess that, unlike most people, music really doesn’t move me. I can’t say why. It just is what it is.

What three songs are most important to me? None actually make it all the way to important, so instead I’ll share some songs I’ve enjoyed and some songs I made (surprising, eh?).

I like old hymns. The greatest enjoyment I can recall where (live) music is concerned is listening to Andrea Bocelli perform at a concert in London some years ago. When he sang “Amazing Grace” I felt something, although my reviews were more centered on his uncanny resemblance to my father than his God-given musical abilities. Here’s the actual performance from that concert, but I’d suggest you hear him perform in person should the opportunity arise, as the recordings don’t fully convey his talent:

While “Amazing Grace” is without question one of the greatest songs ever written, “Great is Thy Faithfulness” comes in a close second, as far as I’m concerned. It speaks volumes and reminds me to get up every morning and thank God for all my manifold blessings.

As far as newer songs are concerned, there’s probably no other song that has had the impact or longevity of Darlene Zschech’s “Shout to the Lord” which is still sung in churches worldwide almost every week.

I know nothing about music, but that didn’t stop me from praying for the Holy Spirit to teach me all things and show me how to write some music. I came up with a very lovely piece, “Craggy Symphony” which I’ve lost in the transition between countries, along with most of my other music. I’ll update this post if I can access a copy of it. Here is one of my earlier efforts that managed to survive, from when I first started learning.

I think I’ll take up composing songs again. Who knows, I might learn to love music.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day 3: Meaningful Songs

Leave a Reply

