Writing 101, Day 15: The Evil That Men Do

Today’s Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force.

I didn’t have to look far to find evil. It’s almost always lurking, seeking whom it may devour, but it’s often so subtle that it goes unnoticed. To complicate matters, it tends to lurk in the most unlikely places.

This evil came with the change of seasons. As the mild rainy season gave way to the first new shoots of the tropical springtime, an intense heat descended upon the land. It brought with it the unrelenting windlessness of an early drought. As the mercury rose, the clothes got skimpier and all thoughts suddenly turned to the beach. Disused by anyone but tourists during the milder months (20-something degree weather is too cold!), locals flock to the pristine white sands and soft rolling surf at the first hint of summer, which comes as early as March in these climes.

This unseasonal heat was so intense that even I, shunner of crowds, noise and hot beaches, found myself at the most pristine cooling spot on this side of the island hoping to find some relief in “God’s Big Bath Pan,” as the natives fondly call the sea. There I was, already in my swimsuit, wearing irritating little beach flip flops, big hat and all that jazz, looking at those hypnotic waves kissing that fluffy white sand. I tried to wiggle my toes over the front of the flip flops, hoping for that feel of sand on feet, but all I was feeling was packed hardpan. Even worse, there were bars between me and the beach where there used to be nothing but sand, grass and one of the most breathtaking views on planet earth. Confused and dazed, I looked for a way around the prison-like bars but there were more barricades and fences and even a cut-stone wall on every side. I could find no way in.P1040550 beach slippers wm

I wondered if I was in the Twilight Zone for a fleeting moment. Feeling faint from the heat and the shock, I put out a hand and grabbed one of those prison bars for support. That caught the attention of a big, burly, blue-suited prison guard who rushed over to prevent me from attempting to break into the public beach.

“What on earth?!” I asked/demanded.

He laughed.

“I’m here to deter you from having any enjoyment in your life,” he explained, not really joking.

I simply nodded at him and walked away.

Lucky for me, there was a much less pristine and less safe beach, aptly named “Silver Sands,” not too far up the road, so today I give you beach pics instead of a sulky rant against evil corporations. It’s much too beautiful a place for me to spend any time doing anything but enjoying these hot days.

P1040547 silver sands fb wm

Leave a Reply

