Warmth & the Quality of Light

photo 101 day 8 warmth and the quality of light 004 tu

Photo 101 Day 9: Warmth & the Quality of Light

Today’s submission is another experiment with digital double exposure. The main photo is today’s glorious sunset,which I shot about 2 hours ago. I can’t believe how the time has flown! That photo was lovely, with a nice, round, fat sun and beautiful yellow tones, but the sky was featureless and flat due to heat and drought. The second photo is one I took a few weeks ago.

survey kittens force of nature 071wm

The colours blend very well together and really convey warmth, which fits well with the extreme heat I’m suffering right now. I think the doubling up really makes the photo pop.

Double exposure done with PicMonkey.

5 thoughts on “Warmth & the Quality of Light

  1. Interesting. I never thought of trying something like that. Did you put one photo over the other by using the “Overlay” tool? I’ve just been learning about PicMonkey the last few months (I’m new to photography).

    1. I’m new to photography too. I discovered PicMonkey in March’s Photo 101 course and it’s so intuitive. You load the photo with the lighter background into the editor and then click the “Texture” icon, choose the “Your Own” option and pick the second photo. You’ll have to try all the settings to see what works best and adjust the fade and saturation. They suggest using “Screen” for double exposures, but I find the other settings tend to look a bit better with my photos. Very nifty and you end up with photo art.

      1. Thanks for the info! That’s when I discovered PicMonkey, also. After seeing your photos, I tried playing around with some photos to see what I could accomplish. I made a cool double exposure of my hand (with wedding ring) and an anniversary photo of my husband and I. I already had the photo of the ring that I had tweaked for photo101 (I’ve worked ahead since I now know all the topics for each day. 😉 ) Have you checked out Pixlr? It’s harder to get used to, but the wand tool, spot repair (bandaid symbol), and clone stamp allow me to easily do things I can’t do on PicMonkey.

      2. I like the working ahead idea. That picture sounds just lovely. I’m looking forward to seeing it. I’ll try Pixlr. I use GIMP for some things like colour correction, but the wand and stuff have never seemed to work for me. GIMP is also excellent for fading certain colours out of the pictures to get that dreamy look without going all the way to black & white. These tools and courses are such wonderful resources, and all free! Thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

