A Story in a Single Image

Writing 101, Day 4: A Story in a Single Image

Inspiration comes in many forms. What we see everyday certainly does inspire us, sometimes without our knowledge. Our vision shapes our thoughts and our thoughts shape our actions. These thoughts and actions shape who we are.

Psalm 101: 3

I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes

This picture, my inspiration for this story, was taken with the help of my mother, who acted as the the location scout and assistant on this photo shoot. She never does that, so you can see that this gorgeous image means a lot to me. Looking at it got me thinking about those special fleeting moments you get to share with the people you love.

Each moment could be your last. I always feel a pang of something, possibly regret, possibly just a stomach twinge, when I suffer a loss and realize that the last moment I spent with a person was the last moment I’ll ever spend with that person. Loss is inevitable and life goes on, but I have to keep reminding myself that life is a timeline. Nothing on that timeline is constant, nor is everything on my timeline supposed to last forever.

You’ve probably heard this many times before, but it never fails to ring true. Try, try really hard, to appreciate the people that God has placed in your life. Love them while you have that chance. Sitting around making and singing sad songs about what you wish you could tell people might sound romantic, but the reality of missing those chances isn’t romantic at all. Some people in your life may be trying. Pass your trial. Some people may bring you joy. Appreciate them and take a moment to say thanks.

As for me, I’ll have to take all this advice to heart and love the people around me, learn from the people I find it hard to love and grow in grace each day the Lord grants me on this earth.

2 thoughts on “A Story in a Single Image

Leave a Reply

