Dear Death…

Writing 101, Day 9: Reinvent the Letter Format‏

Some might say a post in the form of a letter is trite and overdone.

Dear Death,

I’m not a fan of writing letters to entities that might actually be able to strike back, but I’m kind of tired of seeing you lately. First there was that week at the hospital that interrupted my last Writing 101 course. Thank God for that second chance, but the horror stories are still fresh in my mind. Then there were the pet poisonings. I’m not going to revisit that. Then there were the kids. So many kids. Then the chickens. So many chickens. Then Zara. Yesterday, Death, you came for Ash. It was almost too much for me.

When I was about to give up, you came again and tried to take Beeri and Bori! How ambitious! It was then that God intervened and stopped you in your tracks. It was then that I regained my perspective. It was then that I regained my hope.

You see, Death, I fully grasp that you have your work to do. Work that simply must be done. My crying and wishing otherwise doesn’t change anything. What must die shall die. I understand that it is appointed unto man (and maybe beast) once to die. It’s an appointment that we all must meet. But I also understand that you work by appointment and now I understand that you’re not the one in charge of the appointment book. So, I’m wasting my time writing to you.

Goodbye.

…trite and overdone…

Leave a Reply

