The Blood Moon Eclipse: Before & After

Acts 20:19-21

And I will shew wonders in heaven above, and signs in the earth beneath; blood, and fire, and vapour of smoke:

The sun shall be turned into darkness, and the moon into blood, before the great and notable day of the Lord come:

And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.

I had forgotten all about this last blood moon eclipse, even though I’d waited anxiously and in vain for the first two due to cloud cover and sunrise. I slept through the third. Ever an admirer of a gorgeous nightscape, I had noticed that the moon was full somewhat earlier than expected and that it was carrying a halo again, this time for two days in advance of the eclipse. I managed to grab a few fuzzy shots of the magical moonscape on the night before the eclipse.

before the last blood moon

Last night, the supermoon rose and the scenery outside was simply stunning, but I was in church so couldn’t take any pictures. Then came the actual eclipse and I managed to race home in time to catch some of it. I was surprised by how little light the moon gave off during its red phase. I couldn’t detect it with my telephoto lens, so I had to use the much more sensitive point-and-shoot.

blood moon eclipse

As the eclipse progressed past the red stage, I started getting light from the moon again, but it had a noticeable halo and the photos came out fuzzy.

halo during the eclipse

This morning, I noticed the light was strange. It was bright and yellow with a glare that made our eyes go all funny. The sunlight also felt unusually warm. I decided to take advantage of the light to try and capture some morning landscapes. The results were just as lovely as the post-eclipse sunlight.

morning after blood moon eclipse

The light got even better as the sun rose in the morning sky.

2015-09-28 06.56.32 after eclipse cp

Luke 21:25-28

And there shall be signs in the sun, and in the moon, and in the stars; and upon the earth distress of nations, with perplexity; the sea and the waves roaring; Men’s hearts failing them for fear, and for looking after those things which are coming on the earth: for the powers of heaven shall be shaken. And then shall they see the Son of man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. And when these things begin to come to pass, then look up, and lift up your heads; for your redemption draweth nigh.

Writing 101, Day 7: Hook ’em with a quote‏

Leave a Reply

