A Coffee Date, Island-Style

Writing 101, Day 10: Update Your Readers over a Cup of Coffee

Warmth & the Quality of Light - Morning

If we were having coffee right now, you’d know from my pained expression that I’m not from a coffee culture and don’t really get the appeal of coffee dates. It’s just too Euro artsy trendy for my liking. Coffee dates are stiff things, inevitably held somewhere commercial, with the aim of “catching up” with a friend. I did a lot of those in London and got all caught up. To tell the truth, I much prefer island-style catching up. There’s rarely any coffee involved. Being an island girl, my idea of a coffee date is going somewhere comfortable, be it the beach, somebody’s living room, or a favourite casual restaurant, getting some proper food and lots of fruit juice and most importantly, enjoying a good, loud laugh with a friend or two, or twenty. If you can’t laugh out loud, and I don’t mean any LOL foolishness, then there really is no point. I’d just be nodding politely and wishing I were drinking something fruity out of a straw.

If we were having coffee right now, then it’s a fairly good bet you’d be sitting on a couch across from me engaging in a heated discussion over some element of biblical prophecy. I rarely speak of anything else anyway, so you’d have to be one persistent, unboreable, tough cookie with some very non-mainstream interests.

If we were having coffee right now, since it’s already dark, you’d probably be helping me to edit a document or listening to me rant on about my latest project or being made to hold some fabric while I cut what I hope will be a fabulous designer gown. I’d probably be handing it to you to sew the finer details, so if you see me with coffee at night, run!

If we were having coffee right now, you wouldn’t be reading this, because I’d be drinking coffee and chatting (DUH). Instead, I’m craving coffee and trying to catch up on my Writing 101 assignments. Fun, fun, fun. I’m off to get a cup of coffee and maybe drink it outside where I can catch a cool island breeze and get lost in the hypnotic sway of the palm branches. Date over. Bye bye.

Leave a Reply

